Film Teasers

navigation menu

The holiday season is in full swing but Recording Academy voting members still have one critical task to cross off their to-do lists.

Voters — comprised of music professionals across all genres and disciplines, including recording artists, songwriters, producers, and engineers — should cast their ballots for the final round of Grammy Awards voting starting now through Jan. 4, with a cut-off at 6:00 p.m. PT. Their votes will ultimately determine the winners of the 66th annual show on Feb. 4.

Nearly 16,000 eligible entries were submitted for Grammy consideration by the same Grammy voters who will now go through the final voting process. As a reminder, the artist with the most nominations this year is SZA who boasts nine for “SOS.” Her 2022 record is up for the most coveted award of the evening, album of the year, where Taylor Swift, Olivia Rodrigo, Boygenius, Miley Cyrus, Jon Batiste, Lana Del Rey and Janelle Monae are also nominated.

Swift could potentially score the most album of the year wins if her chart-topping “Midnights” sweeps the category while “Barbie: The Soundtrack” could also clean up with its 12 nominations, including four out of the five slots in the songs written for the visual media category.

Tied with seven nods are Victoria Monét, Phoebe Bridgers (six of those for her work with Boygenius, one for a collaboration with SZA) and mixing engineer Serban Ghenea. Then eight musicians are tied for having six nominations each: producer Jack Antonoff, Batiste, Boygenius, Brandy Clark, Cyrus, Eilish, Rodrigo and Swift.

This year’s ballot also sees the inaugural class of nominees for the three new categories introduced this year: best African music performance, best alternative jazz album and best pop dance recording. Additionally, most of this year’s leading nominees are women artists or groups. 

The 2024 Grammy Awards will broadcast live out of the Arena in Los Angeles on Feb. 4 and air on the CBS Television Network. Trevor Noah will host the show for the fourth consecutive year.

Source link